科研

甚麼是營養基因學

营养基因学(Nutrigenomics)是什麽?

营养基因学是营养和遗传学的研究,帮助我们了解自己的基因如何使我们对食物作出不同的反应。虽然所有人的基因都非常相似,但当中微细差别的遗传特徵使我们有别於其他人。这些微小的变化影响我们的身体如何吸收和代谢我们所吃的食物和营养素。

科研

近年来,营养基因学这範畴变得越来越清晰。研究发现,人体基因能改变我们对食物的反应,它能增加人体对主要营养的需求,如叶酸、维生素B6和B12、维生素C、维生素D及奥米加3脂肪酸,亦能提升人体对碳水化合物、脂肪、酒精、咖啡因及盐分的敏感度。另外,研究更深入探索为何有些人较其他人更容易以控制饮食来减重。

 

我们还开始知道,依据基因而设定的饮食建议,较一般的饮食谘询更有效。而且,按照基因度身订造的餐单能保持健康,长远更能降低BMI指数,也能改善血糖水平。

bg-science

营养基因学的重要发展

timeline-sc

基因,绝非命运

人体基因,环境与健康以至整体福祉息息相关。基因纵使可解释为何我们会患上某种潜在疾病,但饮食和生活方式等环境因素才是令健康问题显露的关键因素。我们不能改变基因,但可以透过改善自己的饮食方式和生活习惯,去拥有更健康人生。

基因,絕非命運

我们的承诺

我们深明信赖与准确度尤关重要。我们秉承最严格的标准,确保服务质素和测试的准确度达到最高水平。
同时,我们的测序技术通过香港中文大学基因组测序核心设施 (CFGSL) 进行的外部验证,其结果显示准确度高达99.9%。
在你提供DNA样本的同时,我们承诺:

我们会采用先进的新一代测序技术来分析每个样本

样本于分析过程中会受到严密的品质监管,以确保其质量

我们会利用可靠的基因测序技术,从脸颊中的细胞提取DNA, 并用基因晶片作检测

我们的报告经过科学验证,提供准确和最新的资讯

我们专家所提供的资讯和意见都是基于有力的科学和医学研究

亦参与外部质量保证计划:CAP,WHO,QCMD

The Science

What is Nutrigenomics?

What is Nutrigenomics?

Nutrigenomics is the study of nutrition and genetics.  It helps us discover the different ways that individuals respond to food based on their genetic make-up. While all humans are genetically very similar, we all have slight differences in our genetic profile which make us unique. These tiny variations determine the effect that nutrients have on our bodies and how we metabolize the food that we eat.

The Basis

A number of things are becoming clearer. Studies have shown that our genes can modify our response to diet. This includes how our genes may increase our requirement for important essential nutrients such as folate, vitamins B6 and B12, vitamin C, vitamin D, and omega-3 as well as how they can increase our sensitivity to carbohydrates, fats, alcohol, caffeine and salt.  Additionally, studies are now providing insights into why some individuals appear to lose weight more easily on a given restricted diet compared to others.

 

Additionally, studies are showing that individuals find dietary recommendations based on genetics to be more understandable and more useful than general dietary advice. Tailored diets may also result in better compliance, longer-term BMI reduction and improvements in blood glucose levels.

bg-science

Key Developments in Nutrigenomics

timeline-en-01

Key Developments in Nutrigenomics

Genes are not your destiny.

Our genes and environment both have an essential part to play in our health and overall wellness. While our genes may help us understand more about our susceptibility to a particular health issue, it is environmental factors such as diet and lifestyle that can determine whether we succumb to these issues. Genetics loads the gun but your diet and lifestyle pull the trigger.

Genes are not your destiny.

Our Commitment

Prenetics understands that trust and accuracy are very important to you. We operate our own laboratory and have put in place stringent international quality standards. We have had external validation completed by the Core Facilities Genome Sequencing Laboratory (CFGSL) with a proven genotyping accuracy of 99.9%.

When you submit your DNA, you can trust that:

We use a state-of-the-art sequencing technology to analyze each DNA sample

The quality of the samples are checked frequently as they move through the process of analysis

DNA is extracted from cells in the cheek to be processed through a genotyping chip, which is a highly reliable method of DNA analysis

We use validated science to develop reports with accurate and up-to-date information

The information and opinions our experts provide you are based on established scientific and medical research

EQAP: CAP, WHO, QCMD